Spiritual Recovery. Who says God doesn’t have a sense of humor?

Standard

This morning I opened an email of Maxine’s philosophies. The one that caught my eye was, “ My husband and I divorced for religious reasons. He thought he was God, and I didn’t.”
Hoo-boy. Who says God doesn’t have a sense of humor? That is exactly what happened with me. My husband thought he knew everything that was happening with me, and he couldn’t have been farther from the truth. I had prayed for help, but in final defeat, I looked at the ground one morning and said, “God, I am out of ideas. I am turning this whole situation over to you.”
Golly. I was so clueless as to God’s power. Next thing I knew, I was hit, and I was emotionally outta there. Talk about working in mysterious ways! It was two months before I was physically gone, and I didn’t know how or when or where I was being led. It was some time before I even knew that I was done, done, done with this man. But when I turned to God, and gave Him the lead, I was rescued.
For me, spirituality is the most difficult focus about which to write. It is so personal, so new. But when I turned to God, doors opened to me. They keep on opening…big doors and little peepholes…just like the Maxine philosophy coming in today’s email, as I pondered over how to write about my spiritual growth.
Some may say it is coincidence. I know it is by God’s help that my circumstances changed so suddenly, and I am in the good place I am right now.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

One response »

  1. There is no better comfort than spiritual peace. I am glad you kept your faith. I know J would have been negative towards this as well. You were stronger than you thought.

Leave a Reply

