Walking. It’s a very good thing…

Standard

One of the things my former husband taught me was to be more physical. I had been a kid who sat and read all the time. My deepest desire was to lose myself in a book, and not be disturbed. So, when we met, he got me out on my feet. We ran at first, and over the years, we slowed to walking and bike riding. We walked all over Europe on several trips.
When I came to my new town, I was so happy to be in a situation where I could to walk places. Then, shortly after my move, I tripped on the sidewalk and broke my dominant right wrist in two places. I was put in an elbow cast. It was a demoralizing and devastating event, and I did not take it very well. I didn’t want to be any trouble to anyone. I was hurting physically and I was emotionally raw. It was definitely a setback.
What I did learn was that when something happened like this, I could handle it. There were people who wanted to help me, and I could let them. I learned to write legibly with my left hand. I learned to type with correct capitalization with only my left hand. I could feed, clean, and dress myself with only my left hand. Then remember those affirmations I told you about? Well, I began to tell myself, “I am graceful and steady on my feet.” I said it so regularly, it began to be more true than not.
Now, about walking…once burned, twice shy. I was really fearful about walking for exercise. I concocted a long list of “what if’s” about walking. When I expressed my concerns to my sister-in-law, she said, “Those things are so random. You can’t predict.” That statement freed me!
Now I walk several times a day. I walk wherever I can within a reasonable time frame. I walk with my neighbor. I walk my puppy. And when I walk, I remember one of the best things I learned from my husband…be more physical. Physical well-being creates emotional well-being. It is a time to think, which creates intellectual well-being. And being outside, among the beautiful trees, leaves, animals, and all the good people I see and speak with is a spiritual experience as well. Walking is a very good thing.
Where do you walk, and what good things come from your walks?

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

