Dem bones, dem bones…

Standard

I have osteopenia, which means that I have early stage osteoporosis, which means at worst, if I am not careful, and I break a hip when I am an old woman, I can die, or at best I will have a Strega Nona humpback when I am an old woman … if I am not careful. So weight bearing exercise is critical for my well-being. Yesterday I passed the 300,000 pound mark for lifting weights at the Y. That’s 150 tons, and I don’t know how many elephants!

Though not weight bearing, the best exercise anyone can do is raking. Raking makes you tired, sweaty no matter what the temperature, sore, and satisfied. I raked leaves this weekend, and it was a fruitless task, and that is why I have to build it up in my mind as the perfect exercise. I’ll fill you in on the satisfying part at the end.

First of all my puppy thinks a rake (or broom or mop or vacuum) is for grabbing and chasing. On the out-swing she creeps and crouches. On the in-stroke she leaps and bites. She is so quick that every stroke disperses most of the leaves that were caught in the tines. The wind blew off the rest of the leaves piled that Pupper didn’t scatter.

But it was a satisfying task because I was outside again, taking care of my very own yard, in the autumn which I love and have missed when living in the desert. The air was crisp. The leaves were red, gold, orange, mottled, and beautiful. Pupper was frolicking. And my core muscles were getting the best possible work out. Good thing I don’t have to weigh in the leaves. I doubt I could stay motivated for 300,000 pounds of dry leaves. But then, maybe I could because they are my very own leaves, from my very own trees, in my very own yard, of my very own tiny house.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

