Advent is coming, advent is coming…

Standard

Advent is coming, and that means a lot of things.  It means the beginning of the Christmas season.  It means the beginning of the new church year.  This year it means the implementation of a new translation for Mass, which will include changes in wording for what we hear and say in Mass.  It means my first holiday season in my new home and city and with my faith community.

 

I will go to Mass on Thanksgiving Day, and celebrate with my family here and meet some new friends.  I will place an Advent wreath on my table, and count the Sundays until Christmas by lighting candles.  I will decorate my new tiny home with old decorations and some new ones, arranging items in new ways in a new place.  I will put the hand-formed Crèche that I made myself in art class in a prominent spot.  I will make cookies with my sister.  I will go to Mass on Christmas Eve and bring my jammies to my brother’s home for watching the children on Christmas morning for my first Christmas with them.

 

And I will remember all those Christmases with my former spouse in our desert home and the traditions we had together. I will try not to be sad. I will remember and be grateful for that life and the life I have now. I will wonder what good things will happen next.

 

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

