Resolutions…

Standard

These are my New Year’s Resolutions for 2011, written on January 1, when I knew I was leaving home for good:
1. Get my life in order; love myself.
2. Begin writing, even if it is only a blog.
3. Nurture family relationships (step-daughters, brothers, sisters, parents).
4. Exercise and eat right (yoga).
5. Be frugal.
So far I have kept them all, in some form! Who knew? But there is one resolution in question…Be frugal. That one is up for grabs on the “keeping” part.
You see, how does a person be frugal when they have to buy a house, ship their car and belongings across country, replace everyday things like a skillet, coffee making equipment, a can opener, broom, and simple tools, not to mention buy appliances, TV, and furniture? Money was just flying out of my banking account!
Well, one way I tried frugality was to shop consignment stores and garage sales. Another way was to rely on the kindness of friends and family who cleared out their spare casserole dishes, planters, and decorative items. A third way was cruising the street on Bulky Pick-Up Day. (My sister and I got a couple of really good chairs!) And a final way toward frugality was to just do without.
I just recently replaced the vacuum cleaner kept by my former spouse. I still have to get a lawn mower, a three-hole punch for my office, and small watering can for houseplants, but my necessary household items are slowly being replaced.
To Be frugal, I try to have at least 12 days a month where I spend no money. I am surpassing that goal by one day a month, and will shoot for 15 monthly “spendless” days in the coming year. Also, I think I will change the Be frugal to Save money for my Resolutions 2012.
There is no price for peace of mind, though.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

