Airports, some love ’em, some …

Standard

I love waiting in an airport. I know. I must be crazy. The excited feeling starts when I go through Security, kicking off my shoes, peeling off my sweater. I take a gulp of air as I walk through the screening devices, holding my breath for the beep that never comes.
I gather my belongings, plunge my feet into my shoes, thank the Security folks for keeping us all safe, and head down to my gate – always the last one on the concourse. How do they do that?
Because I am a rule follower, I am two hours early, as advised. Seating at my gate is either totally full with people for the flights prior to mine, or totally deserted. Today it is devoid of people. I sit, pull out my book, and drop into the story for an hour.
The seats begin to fill, and I can’t read for all the phone conversations around me. People talk louder on their cell phones than they do in normal conversations. Did you realize that?
Some people smile back at you. Others totally avoid eye contact. There are readers, like me; those who talk on the phone and those who click away on laptops or Smartphones; pacers and a few who just stare into space…the Thinkers or the Restless Ones.
Maybe there are those who pray. I’d like to, but the holiday background music interferes with my thoughts. So I walk.
The crew comes to the gate to check in. The counter attendant appears. Airport and airline personnel appear and disappear through the jet way door. Soon the boarding will begin. Then my seating zone is called, my ticket is scanned. I walk down the jet way. I smile and greet the flight attendant, find my seat, and as I settle in, I get a little rush. The waiting is over. The flying part is about to begin.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

