What he taught me…

Standard

I have been thinking for months about what I was meant to learn from my former spouse and by being married to him for 33 years.  Surely so much investment of time and energy and love was not for naught!  So I have been working on my list, and here is what I figure he taught me, so far…

Be more physical and exercise.

Tenacity is a good thing.  It keeps one from giving up too easily.

Delayed gratification is worth the wait, in most cases.

Yard work is a stress reducer.  You can shed a lot of frustration with a rake.

Count on yourself.  You are the only one who can make you happy – or sad, for that matter.

Bullies are just that.  They can’t hurt you as much as you think they can.

When it is never about one of the partners, it’s never going to be.

Making no choice is making a choice.

God and Family should be everything.

Self esteem and self worth are essential in order to give love.

People whom you thought loved you can change on a dime.

People whom you thought didn’t love you can be your angels.

You can always start over.

A good dog is better than a bad husband.

Traditions are good, and you can always start a new one.

Some of these “lessons” are hard learned, some are so obvious I should have known better, and some are such revelations that I am stunned.  I am sure there are more to be recognized, but for now, I am glad that I have come to realize what he taught me.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

