My loves…

Standard

#1   He was tall, dark, and handsome–and elusive.  I longed for his attention and rarely got any.  His smile and laugh were my smile and laugh, for he was my father.  I spent my late girlhood and young womanhood trying to fill the missing piece he left in my heart and life.

#2   He was tall, dark, and handsome–and quiet. We were very young, and he was the puppy love, sung about on the radio.

#3   The next was tall, blonde, and fun.  He made me laugh.  For one sweet summer, we had a good time together, and neither of us ever forgot.

#4   Then came the smoldering blonde, former soldier.  He made my heart race, and I wanted to be his wife.  I wasn’t worldly enough for him, and he found another right under my eyes.

#5   There was a husband…a poor choice on both our parts.

And.. Last, the love of my life — a short, bearded red-head, who reminded me of a leprechaun everytime he smiled, which was less and less frequent as the decades passed. 

Now love comes to me from many, beginning with God, rather than one-at-a-time, and washes over me in wave-after-wave. from family and friends, never ceasing.  It is a rich existence.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

