From teaching comes all other professions…

Standard

I have always been proud to be a teacher, but this past week, I became in awe of the profession of nursing.  There is a reason why those commercials on TV laud nurses as Super Heroes.  They are.

They fluff pillows, measure bodily fluids, usage pain, comfort distraught relatives, order meals, bring ice water and coffee, smuggle ice cream in the middle of the night, clean bottoms, wipe away tears, bathe, change, and move patients, ask the hard questions and give the hard news, push wheel chairs and drag oxygen tanks.  They run–not walk–all shift long.  They wear happy scrubs and sturdy shoes.  They smile when they may not feel like it, deal with people in pain, and those who are battling pain…families and patients.  They have to hurt people in order to heal them.

I have a lot of nurses in my family.  Some help people come into life and some people leave this world.  Some help patients get ready for surgery, help the docs perform the surgeries, and help patients recover from surgeries.  Some manage other nurses and teach upcoming nurses to become the Super Heroes all nurses truly are.

So if I can feel I taught some children who grew up and became nurses, and I did, then I am so grateful, proud, and indebted to those children who chose nursing as their profession.  They are my Super Heroes, and I am humbled by their avocation.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

2 responses »

  1. Thank you for the praise and for teaching those young ones to think critically. Also We all had white knuckles in the car, only one brave enough to encourage attentivness. Love you

Leave a Reply

