What would you be if…?

Standard

My former spouse and I used to play a game in the good days, where we would ask each other, “What would you be if you were a flower (tree, book, color, you name it)?  So when I saw a prompt for a blog of “What would you be if,” I thought about what my responses would be now.

 What would I be if I were a flower?  My old response was a tulip.  It is fragile, short lasting, simple, and colorful.  It is also graceful, which I am not.   My new response is a violet.  I have violets growing in my yard.  Some yard aficionados consider the violets to be weeds, but for me they are a delight.  They bloom twice a year and are hardy, though they look delicate.

What would I be if I were a tree?   My old response is forgotten, but Dogwood is my current choice.  I have one in my front yard.  It has a multi-trunk, which gives it character, and it has such a beautiful bloom, red, red leaves in the autumn, which turn early and last a long time.  Its branches reach out, seemly to embrace my yard.  I also love the Christian connection of the Dogwood legend.

What would I be if I were a book?  I would be A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.  It is a coming of age story, and I seem to keep coming of age.  I used to think at some point one’s life hit a plateau, and would remain there until the end, and maybe that actually happens.  I haven’t hit mine, yet.

What would I be if I were a color?  Red is the color of choice.  It is warm, vibrant, and brings life into a room.  Red is the joyous deep color of poinsettias.

What would I be if I were a holiday? For today I would be Christmas.   It is the holiday of the Nativity, and this is the year of my rebirth.  I wish the merriest of Christmases to everyone, without exception.

 

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

