And with your spirit…

Standard

I have a wonderful friend from high school and college who is my Gemini twin.  Over the holidays, she invited me to come spend the night at her husband’s childhood home about an hour from my tiny house.

We talked non-stop, as we always have, had a lot of laughs, and enjoyed watching our doggies roughhouse and roll on the floor.  Being with this special couple once again reinforced the observations I made about being a third one with a couple.  I was also fascinated by the couple that was the parents to my girlfriend’s husband.  I didn’t get to meet these parents.  They’ve passed on.  But their four grown kids have been able to keep the family home.  The entire extended group meets there for major holidays.

The house was custom built by their dad in a contemporary style in the late 1950’s.  It has a lot of glass and special features designed for an active and growing family with three sons and a daughter.  The plethora of windows looks out over a tree-filled yard and a quiet street, bringing the outside in, as they say.  The rooms are open, especially the kitchen and dining/family room areas.  It was a design before its time.

Walking around the house alone, early the next morning, I felt as if I were in a movie, because I could literally see in my mind’s eye, the mother in the kitchen with the kids visible.  There are signs all over the home of the personalities of these people.  The books told of nature lovers, gardeners, and a loving cook.  These people were music lovers, and socially conscientious.   There were creative, fun-loving people who shared their joy of the world and showed thoughtfulness toward their children.  Some telltale artifacts left by them, still in their places were a hummingbird nest  resting among cooking and gardening books, and a 1960’s bar set, with cocktail shaker and flasks which were displayed on another shelf.  Rows and rows of repurposed jars, labeled in adult and child printing with home grown herbs lined the area around the kitchen window.  I didn’t have enough time to take it all in, but this literally was a home that spoke to those that were observant enough to look and listen.

The experience made me joyful.  It reminded me that I am among such positive people and beauty everywhere.  I am developing a greater awareness.  I am growing more open to others…those in this world and those beyond.  

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

