Resolutions, we make them every year…

Standard

That comes from a kid song, the first graders used to sing.  The next line is, “We break them every year.”   As I have previously mentioned, I write down my New Year’s Resolutions.  I keep my list in a journal, and check back on them frequently.  I limit the list to five resolutions, and since “Be a good wife” isn’t on my list anymore, my focus can be on my present circumstances, and the continuation of trying to become a better version of myself.  Here are my 2012 New Year’s Resolutions:

  1. Embrace Catholicism: pray daily morning and night,  find a way to serve others and each month donate the “gift of the month” to Catholic Social Services
  2. Continue to get my life in order: nurture friendships and keep to a budget
  3. Walk regularly and ride my bike again
  4. Begin violin lessons
  5. Keep writing, even if it is only my blog

I have two pretty difficult goals.  I already have my doubts about being able to keep the violin one.  For one thing, it is in conflict with the budget part of #2.  For another thing, I am not sure I can stick with the commitment. Playing the violin is on one of my Life’s Desires cards, though, and I thought that if I am going to actually start, I had better start soon.  It may not actually be a Life’s Desire, and then I will know, and can move on.   The other difficult one is #3. 

Walking and riding bikes were two things I did regularly in my previous life.   I did one or the other daily, for years.  My first, second, and third grade students knew about my commitment to exercise, and in 2004, they gave me an Electra cruiser bicycle for Christmas.  I recorded the miles I have ridden.  I logged over 7,000 miles on that bike.  When I moved back east, I had my bike shipped, but it has been parked in my tiny-tiny out-back house, and I have not ridden it in well over a year.  Overcoming the emotional connection with my past life, and getting back to bike riding may not happen for a while, but I thought about it today, so I may be getting closer. 

 It’s probably good to have one or two lofty resolutions.  It gives a person something to work toward, and makes a person challenge oneself.  Seriously…do I need some more challenges?   

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

3 responses »

  1. Deb,
    A couple of thoughts. I feel putting your spiritual life first and including Generosity and Service in that aspiration is a deeply intuitive and gracious move!

    When you take the bike out you can “wash” it or “smoke” it and give it a new beginning. One kind of new beginning might be not to clock miles on it anymore: just “rock” miles, and “roll” them too.

    And, if violin is tough and expensive; look for “fiddle” lessons!

    Just a few thoughts on your good new year’s resolutions! To resolve: can be to “woman up” with a lot of tough implications….or it can simply be to re-solve, to figure it out in a new way.

    Love you Deb. Kath

  2. Deb, This is my recommendation on your resolutions for 2012.

    1) Faith is an essential of all persons lives. You will do this with ease, no matter if you come up against a challenge.
    2) You do this everyday, You will be successful with your goels and financial budgeting.
    3) Exercise is good for the soul and body. It is in your blood.
    4) If you can do it, create the violin fund, like the cell phoe fund. You will do it if you want to.
    5) You are right!! Keep writing to express yourself and motivate others with your energy!!

  3. Hey Debra,
    Enjoyed your post! Try googling violin lessons and you may want to check the library (main one) to see if they have a video on how to play the violin. I know they have tapes on how to play the guitar. I laughed because my bike is also in the basement and has flat tires! And I need to use my exercise equipment for something other than to dry my throw rugs on! Anyway, thanks for giving me a chuckle! Don’t know if I told you, but I have begun my book. Thanks for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

