Glitter…the saga continues…

Standard

Today I substituted in the Pre-K class.  It consists of 4 and 5 year olds.  The children were participating in a “Listen and Do” activity in which they listened to the teacher give directions, and then they did the project.  They were given a cut out snowflake with shapes printed on it.  They were to color some parts darker than others and they were to leave some parts uncolored.  Amazingly, the children were able to follow the three steps perfectly. 

Then they were to “color” the blank spaces with a Q-tip dipped in glue, and they were to sprinkle glitter over the glue.  Oh my gosh!  I thought, “What fresh hell is this?”  If you remember, the g-stuff is my worst nightmare. These were 4 and 5 year olds!  Not only were the kids NOT using glitter glue, my favorite invention of all time, they were NOT containing the g-stuff in any way.  There was no newspaper under the snowflakes to catch the loose glitter.

But then, the little ones loved their projects!  Their snowflakes sparkled like diamonds, as it were.  Their stick puppet snowflakes bounced in time to their song of “Eesey Weensy Snowflake,” and the children didn’t want to give up their creations to go out to play!  Even better, we all, children and adults alike, went through the rest of the day with blue and silver sparkles stuck to our cheeks and chins.  It was fresh delight.  I am changing my mind about the g-stuff.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

One response »

  1. Debra,
    I got behind on your posts but have enjoyed each one that I’ve read. Reading the one about the kids and glitter will keep me laughing at work tonight! I’d of liked to have seen the look on the janitor’s face when he/she saw the mess! Sounds like you had lots of fun!

Leave a Reply

