There’s no place like…

Standard

I have been homeless twice in my life.  Oh, I’ve always had a place to go, a bed, a roof, and people who loved me.  The times were when I first exited my marriages. During those times, the places I stayed were with family.  I was welcome, the interims gave me the time I needed to get on my feet, so to speak, and move on.  The displaced feeling though was difficult for me. 

This week, I have been thinking about the concept of Home.  I love my tiny house, and love how much it is my home.  I have mentally compared it to my home in the desert and my community there.  The memory of the past home and the reality of the present home both give me a sense of comfort.

There are other places that fill me with the sense of Home, too, and this is what I have been pondering.  One of those home-like places my “sister’s” home at the Lake.  It is a log house that looks down the street to a full view of the open water. From the expansive front porch, I can see the other side of the lake in the distance, and watch the sky and sunsets.  The outside is peaceful, but the inside is a haven.  There is so much love in that house.

My dear friends-that-are-family pull me into their circle.  I am not a guest there.  For the time of my visit, I am a part of their lives.  I have my “own” cozy nest of a bottom bunk upstairs. I know how to make coffee for everyone in the mornings.   I am an active family member for the time I am with them.  When I am away from the Lake, I am homesick for my next visit.

How fortunate am I to not only have my own tiny home which envelopes me with a sense of security and comfort, but to have a second home at the Lake, where I have grieved for the loss of my marriage, the loss of my mother, and celebrated my new circumstances.  I have other “homes,” too, that I think about. For today, there’s no place like the Lake and my loved ones there who greet me with loving waves when I go home.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

One response »

  1. Very nice! I like homes like that!! Your northern home is a blanket of white and 7 degrees right now. But tthe sun is shining and the coffee is always hot. XOXO

Leave a Reply

