Beacons of light…

Standard

I go to Daily Mass.  It is not quite like going to a Protestant Church service daily.  For Catholics, Mass is at the very center of our interior life.  It is a private, peaceful, prayerful time to reflect.      

Two mornings a week I walk to Mass, this time of year, in the dark.  I leave my porch light on.  My neighborhood is hilly.  I return home down quite a steep hill, and this morning I noticed that I could see my porch light glowing from a block away.

My heart was struck by this glow.  I felt such a sense of welcoming peace that I came to a full stop just to look at my porch light at the top of my own little street.  Here, beacons draw me, and once again, I am overcome with gratitude for my place, safe and surrounded by love.

Leave a Reply

