Now my aunt has passed away…

Standard

She was the big sister.  She looked after everyone, beginning with my mother when both were just children.  She lived a full life as a sister, daughter, farmer’s wife, mother of four daughters, and grandmother, great-grandmother, and great-great-grandmother of many.  She was ever so much more.  She helped raise me right along with her own daughters, and her loving care was more influential than I could ever tell her.

 She never missed a birthday card for her nieces, nephew, great-nieces and nephews, and I am sure all those grands, great-grands, and even the great-great grands.  She was just that…grand. 

She was beautiful, sweet, kind, caring, nurturing, thoughtful, gracious, and soft-spoken.  My favorite photograph is of the three women who passed down their legacy of strength and goodness to all the girls of our family.  They taught us to become the women we are today.  The black and white picture, taken in 1942, shows my grandmother, aunt, and mother seated at an angle.  All wore light colored blouses and brooches.  They have those wonderful war time hairdos, and sweet, sweet smiles. 

I imagine them all together now as in that picture, guiding us with their spirits, and watching over us, just as they did in life.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

