Walkin’ the dog…

Standard

When I was a kid in the ‘50’s, my mom would give me 50 cents to go to the movies on Saturdays.  The show was a double feature with cartoon for 25 cents, and that left me with another quarter for snacks.  Either before the movie or during intermission, there would be a stage show of some kind.  There would be a magician, or bicyclists doing tricks, or an acrobatic clown.  But, the shows that I liked best were the yo-yo contests.  The kids who entered those contests could win “fabulous prizes.”  They were good, and I mean really good.  They could do wonderfully named tricks, such as ‘Round the World and Walkin’ the Dog.  

Not too many years ago, yo-yos came back in style, and when I was teaching, I watched all over as my students did the tricks that I loved to see when I was a kid.  I wanted a yo-yo, and my dear friend, whose daughter was in my class, gave me a Duncan for Valentine’s Day.  It was my favorite color of red, perfectly balanced, and fabulous.  I was barely able to make my yo-yo zip back up to me, never mind mastering any trick, especially my beloved Walkin’ the Dog.

This brings me to my real life current activity of walkin’ the dog.  I don’t know what I would do without my puppy.   She is my motivation and my inspiration.  She makes me laugh, gets me moving, and keeps me going.  Today was no exception, when I was outside with her at the crack of dawn in 20 degrees, with a wind of 40 mph.  No lie.  Happily, this is the worst weather of this winter, which is now two-thirds past. Tomorrow, I am getting an estimate on an Invisible Fence.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

One response »

  1. LOL! Mine is ‘Walkin’ the Mary’! Your weather sounds horrible!! That was oue weather over the weekend, but it was bright sunshine, so very deceaving. We did have sleetand snow during the day today that caused some slippage on travels. XOXO

Leave a Reply

