The current soundtrack of my life…

Standard

I have always thought our lives should have a soundtrack, just like in the movies.   My soundtrack has changed from time to time.  For a while, my theme song was “Jump,” by Van Halen.  At others, it was “It’s a Wonderful World,” by Satchmo.  Willie Nelson did a good job on that song, too.

Currently, my personal theme song is “Rollin’ in the Deep,” by Adele.  I just love that song.  It gives such a knife-twisted-in-your-rib-cage kind of feeling.  Not that I am feeling vindictive right now.  It’s more like this is how I felt a year ago.  Still, sometimes, when I am swinging through the stages of grief, I come back to the anger one, and this song says everything about my anger…”we coulda had it all.”

I like Adele.  She is spunky, beautiful, and Cockney!  How great a combination is that?  I heard the guy that inspired her break-up songs is a creep named “Slinky.”  Go figure.  Now he wants a cut of the royalties as the “Muse” who is behind the talent.  Of course he does…like my former spouse gets half of my retirement.

So, though she is two generations younger than I am, I currently identify with Adele, and think Slinky should be kicked to the curb. Besides, Adele is a much prettier role model than Satchmo or Willie, though I think I am closer to swinging back toward them all the time.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

2 responses »

  1. i love all of the ‘theme songs’ you mentioned. and like you, i’m especially celebrating and identifying with Adele these days. GOTTA love a singer who comes through the other side of having her vocal chords to clean house at The Grammies!
    am hoping you’re feeling equally triumphant and powerful these days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

