DIY…

Standard

I am not capable of doing too many home improvements independently.  I don’t have the knowledge or skills, and my former spouse was a construction pro of the generation of men who could do or fix anything (with a piece of bailing wire or a paper clip, no less). 

I have a sister, however, who can do practically anything herself.  She is visiting me!  So, she scoped out my house for needed projects, and we made a trip to Home Depot with a really long list.  This is what she did yesterday:  built shelves in my hall coat closet, filled the box garden she built me on her last visit with dirt, installed a digital keypad in my door, and together we installed the invisible pet fence.  This is what she is going to do today: to replace my kitchen faucet.

She is an inspiration!  I am befuddled by her competence, and a little envious of her abilities.  I am also very, very grateful she would prefer to help me get these small tasks done, instead of going sightseeing! The fact that she would drive 15 hours to visit me, do home improvement projects on my tiny house, and drink wine with me in the evenings are gifts beyond value.  Invisible fence:  $142.50.  Digital keypad: $104.  Dirt: $44. Wood and screws for shelves: $10.79.  Sisterly love: priceless.  No Master Card needed. 

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

