Recycle, reuse, reduce …

Standard

My town has a wonderful recycling program.  Every Monday morning I put out my green bin at the curb.  During the week I sort my recyclables by separating my paper and cardboard from everything else allowable, such as cans, glass, and numbered plastic.  Some families have two bins, one for paper and one for the rest.  But I don’t need two bins.   I place all my paper in a paper bag, as per instructions, and the rest is in the bin.

I take my own heavy duty canvas bags to the store with me, and my grocery pays me five cents for every bag I bring.  I have found it an irony that I have to ask for a paper bag for my recycling at the grocery, and the city does not accept plastic grocery bags for recycling.

All this led me to think about recycling, reusing, and reducing in my own life.  Let’s see…I have recycled my family!   I am not particularly proud of this, but for many years, I put my family on the back burner.  I lived so far away from them that visiting frequently wasn’t easy.   Then the cost of travel at that time in my life was impossible.  Phone calls were cheap, but the two to three hour time difference was an obstacle, and then my former spouse made irrational accusations when I spoke with some of my family, so I didn’t call them, in order to have peace at home.

All excuses.  But now, through forgiveness and love, I have recycled back into frequent contact and visits with all my family members.  Sadly, God has reduced some of my family.  Maybe He is reusing them as Angels.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

2 responses »

  1. Angels come in all shapes and sizes and are diffinitely family, friends, loved ones and those that gave their lives to allow others to live. Your family Deb was never recycled. We were here for you when you needed us and even when you did not realize, yet… that you needed us. Love you!!

    PS: Your ex-spouse was a controlling fool. Never your loss!!

  2. we all knew he made it difficult for you and also bought into the silence to spare you the conflict … or more. No more do we need to do that thanks God. We can’t look back and thank God for a future.Love you

Leave a Reply

