Studying for the Life Test…

Standard

In the comics yesterday, Charlie Brown wondered if life was a true/false or multiple choice test.  Then it came to him that life is a 1000-word essay test.  Geesh.  No kidding.  Well, admittedly, Charlie Brown is a kid, and he is also a cartoon, so he wouldn’t really know.

If life is only a 1000-word essay test, I should be okay.   After all, I have been practicing for the writing part for several months… at least, since I started blogging, anyway.  As far as the living part, I am not sure I have actually “studied” until recently.  What I really want to know is what the question(s) would be.  Is there only one?  Are there five, ten?  And what would those questions be?  This is how I think this test might look:

 

Name: __________________________________________  Date:___________________________

These are questions for your life exam.  When you answer, be sure you elaborate and give specific examples.  Answer each question fully in your exam book.  Grammar and spelling count, but content is critical.  Word count should be approximately 1000 words per question.  Don’t get hung-up on this word count part.  Focus on your answers to the questions.

  1.  In what ways were you kind to others?  You may choose from different periods of your life.
  2. How did you treat your family?  What did you do well, and what would you do differently? And why?
  3. If you could choose one aspect of your character to change, what would it be and why would you choose to change this attribute? 
  4. In what ways did you withhold yourself from others?  Whom and why?
  5. Regrets?  What are they, how would you do things differently if you had the chance.  If you have no regrets, elaborate on why.

 

Criteria for the rubric would be very interesting.  Scoring would be a nightmare.  Maybe I will try to take my own 1000-word written essay test one day.  For now, I will just think about my answers and keep “studying” for my practicum. 

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

