My essential self…

Standard

I went to a Life Coach so she could help me design my perfect life.  She is a wonderful person, and we are still friends.  One of her exercises was for me to think of 3 or 4 people that I love to be with, list adjectives or qualities that I like about them.  Then she circled the common descriptors from all the lists, and said these attractive qualities in others were the qualities of my essential self.

My essential self…what an amazing concept!  I remember someone asking me what I liked when I first came east.  I was unable to answer the question.  How could I identify my essential self, when I didn’t even know what I liked?  Nevertheless, these are the characteristics that appeared from the lists:

Humor, generosity, devotion (which includes faith, protectiveness, and unconditional love), and intellect.

My coach’s instructions were that when these qualities go missing, I am to go looking for them, as they are the cornerstones of emotional stability in my life.  Now, as I live daily, I notice these traits.  They certainly are attractive to me when I see them in others I encounter.  As I develop friendships, and nurture existing relationships, I am so aware of these qualities in others.  Maybe there are more characteristics of my essential self yet untapped.  Wouldn’t that be a surprise!

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

One response »

  1. It is wonderful to identify essential qualities that help one through their life. I was never coached professionally, but I did identified esssential qualities that I searched for in people that make me feel comfortable and true to their word. I continue to look for my own set of qualities in people that I need and want to be around on a daily base. This was a big step toward making a change in my work environment. This change has been hard and so much to learn,. It exhausts me, but I woulds not change my decision for anything. I knew that I woulds really find my own qualties at my new employer, and I have, I will talk to you soon Deb! Thanks for your call last week. I was already sleeping, whew! XOXO

Leave a Reply

