My tiny house…

Standard

It only has four rooms.  It is square and about 1000 square feet.  It is 52 years old, and has some minor old-house-problems.  Yet, it is my sanctuary and my refuge.  It is a solid roof over my head, and every morning I am grateful to God for the snug protection my tiny house gives to me and my pup.

In recent days, I have been working on curb appeal.  First I built a flower bed that is called here, ironically, a “natural area.”  There is not much that is natural about it, except that it has plants in it.  But is has the potential to one day be very beautiful.  Already it is attractive, and takes out a big hunk of mowing.  I blocked out the area with cardboard and outlined it with old bricks left in a pile out back by the previous owners.  I ordered 20 bags of 2 cubic feet per bag garden soil and 15 bales of pine straw.  That was about 10 bales too many of the pine needles and 10 bags too short of dirt, but live and learn!  I am gardening in an entirely different climate than I did out west.   Next I planted a bunch of perennials, which barely show.  They will fill in and be glorious by the end of the summer, though.

After that construction job, I scattered a lot of the pine straw around beds and clay-exposed areas in the back.  When I first moved in about a year ago, I pulled weeds out back and discovered a double-tiered, granite-outlined “natural area” that really had gone natural.  It held a variety of surprises for which I am reaping the rewards now!  There are red and coral blooming azaleas and peonies are poking up.  They were nearly choked out by the naturalness of years of severe neglect, and they are struggling to regain hold and to thrive.  It is a delightful surprise. 

Next, my brother walked over an old-fashioned non-motorized push mower.  It is quite a workout, and it does the job somewhat, but it helped me get my grass under control by myself!  No hiring a person with a mower for $25 a shot this season!  I bought a battery operated weed whacker, and went to town.  Then the crowning glory…my dear, Lake Friends built, brought, and installed window boxes for my house and the tiny, tiny back house.  I planted flowers in them yesterday, and they really are too cute for words.  How lucky am I to have such friends?

So, those are the DIY and “with a little help from my friends” projects.  My tiny house has curb appeal.  I am outside and loving it.  Hattie is getting exercise and staying inside the invisible fence.  Life is GREAT!  And my independence and inter-dependence continues.   Who knew such a life was open to me?  It just took one gigantic leap of faith and a bunch of baby steps along the way… AND I still have 7 bales of pine straw left to scatter!

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

