My discovered “natural area”…

Standard

In the comics, yesterday,  Mutts, had a strip about plants…light and sunshine, water and space, all that was needed to grow new life.  I can relate.

When I moved into my tiny house, there was a wild, overgrown area out back.  I moved in with a broken right wrist, and that impeded me from doing yard work for some weeks.  So it was about mid-June when I began to pull up masses of ivy that crawled up trees and crept across the dirt.  I was flabbergasted when I found that I had a double raised area outlined with granite curbing blocks.  Finding those blocks was like finding a treasure.  I actually gasped.  They were beautiful!

Cleaning that area up was quite the job, especially with a wrist that was braced and weak.  I purchased two different types of clippers and two different types of saws.  I hacked and sawed ivy as thick as my thumb.  I pulled until I fell backward, and I got that stuff cleared out.  When I was through, I discovered that I had a weeping cherry tree, a redbud nearly choked by the ivy, a hackberry tree with ridges of flat bark, and a lot of unidentified plants.  I found several mahonia that look like holly but more symmetrical, with strings of blue berries.  I had acuba, also called gold-dust plants, which I could cut and bring in to place in water for fresh arrangements.  And I had two tiny, smothered azaleas and some twigs that had peony-type leaves.

This season, the back natural area has been part of my “curb appeal” project, and it has become a living metaphor of my last years, as my dear Lake friend pointed out.  I find that I am very much like this natural area in my yard.  I was neglected and ignored.   I was covered with debris.  I was nearly choked out of existence.  And then with changes in circumstance, I was uncovered, swept clean, nurtured, cared for, attended, and surprise of surprises, I am blooming and thriving!

I just needed what all living things do…sun, water, nutrition, time, and space.  The sunshine, water and nutrition came from God and from my family and friends.  I gave myself the time and space.  What a difference a year has made…for my garden and for myself. We both are a delightful agony, and well-worth the effort and pain.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

