The burning ceremony…

Standard

Life is just so damn ironic.  My former spouse was irrationally jealous, and I was naively manipulated for many years… decades, really… into altering my behavior and activities so he would see how much I loved him, how worthy he was, and in hopes he would trust me, though there was never, ever once any reason for him not to trust, except his own nature.   Now, I find he has a girlfriend.  Of course he does. 

 So, I released him in a burning ceremony, alone, in the middle of a sunny Sunday afternoon.  I wrote on fine paper, in my best printing, with a calligraphy pen, “Former Spouse, son of (Father and Mother), I forever release you from the life and the heart of Me.”  I put this writing on a metal pie tin, and I burned that page beginning with his name.  I even took pictures.  When my entire message was burned, I twirled the ashes out of the pie plate in my front yard.

I felt sad, and a little chocked up, but I did not cry.  Now, I feel a great joy for the freedom I have to pursue the life I am meant to have.  His girlfriend is now my girlfriend, though we have never met.  Life is just so damn ironic.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

One response »

  1. You are way to nice. It is ok to say he is an a__. That is part of healing too. I am glad you thought more of yourself in the end. His end will always be bitter. You can now be free of his hold. Love you and remember it is always ok to speak your mind at the time. The cost is by far less.

Leave a Reply

