Hattie Horton, CGC…

Standard

My little pup completed her Advanced Dog Class, and now she is a Canine Good Citizen.  This is a BIG DEAL! 

To master the final exam…and yes, there is one…she had to walk nicely without pulling; remain with all paws on the ground for greetings and petting; let her ears, eyes, and paws be checked; show no fear or agression to another dog or person walking by; and not freak out at loud noises.  All of these behaviors had to be exhibited at the first command, with no second chances.  Jumping and pulling were her greatest challenges going into the test.

To get her to this point, I had to enroll her in remedial training.  We had private lessons, no less, tutoring, and lots of homework.  Hard work and studying paid off!

Excuse me, now.  My “good citizen”has two paws on my leg, and is barking in my face.  She wants me to play tug, and is nibbling my arms.  Good thing the paperwork is in the mail, and AKC doesn’t make home visits!

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

One response »

Leave a Reply

