It made me feel reckless and young…

Standard

Today I rolled down all the windows and let my hair blow wild as I drove the country roads.  I haven’t done that in 50 years, if ever, now that I think of it.  When I was a teenager, the style was a teased and sprayed flip.  We’d put scarves on our heads The Help-style, because a breeze could sink a hairdo in a puff.

But today, I’d been weeding at my sister’s, and then I drove the whopping mile to Dad’s, briskly lapped the half-mile track twice with the Farm Dog bobbing and weaving among the tall grasses, and hopped back into the car. 

When Hattie and I drove back to Sis’s, I rolled all the windows down.  My greying, shorter hair lashed about on the top of my head.  I was reminded of the Pam Tillis song about the woman who let her pony run.  My “pony,” aka Dad’s CVR, cranked up to a legal 55 mph, ran down County Road M, and the years fell away for a moment.  Yes, indeed, it made me feel reckless and young.  My new life’s soundtrack song, it seems, has replaced Adele’s Rolling in the Deep.  Good.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

