Sandhill Cranes mate for life…

Standard

The great sorrow of my life is that I did not find my soulmate.  Two failed marriages have, at times, made me feel like a failure, though I know the choices I made were poor.  Not much soulmate material in a poorly thought-out choice.

I wonder how a Sandhill Crane choose its life-long mate.  Is it based on lust?  That didn’t work out so well for me.  Is there some internal radar that connects the two cranes?  If that’s the case, how do those two find each other?

My sister has a pair of Sandhills that return to her grass lake every year to mate, nest, and raise whatever babies hatch and survive.  This morning, Hattie wandered too close.  They began the most infernal squawking designed to frighten the interloper.  Cranes are BIG!  That didn’t stop her.  She wanted to play, and she assumes every man and beast think she is the cutest thing ever to gad about.  I called her back, and good citizen that she is, she actually came to me, forgetting the birds.

The incident made me nostalgic for what I’ve never had…a protective husband.  I also had some hope, too.  My skills are better now.  I have criteria.  I ‘ve got at least twenty more years left, if not more.  My soulmate may be finding his way to me right now.  I shall savor the wait.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

One response »

  1. Soulmates are hard to come by and few and far between. No failure Deb! To find one’s self in life is difficult enough, why make life and love harder. I do not consider any of my life a failure. So sorry for those that are now “Somebody that I use to Know”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

