My big girl panties…

Standard

Not to get too personal, but big girl panties are over-rated.  Seriously.  They cut into my middle.  And thongs?  Forget it.  Never happened.

As I have lived through this process of ending a three decade-long marriage, a cross-country move, beginning all over a new life, and becoming an independent single woman at a certain age, I have been told by more than one person to pull up my big girl panties.  Of course, those who gave me that advice weren’t in my shoes, but they did mean well.  And their suggestion brought me out of a funk or two…much needed at the time.

I am wearing my big girl panties now.  They are comfy stretchy jockeys that I searched for over the years.  What I am pulling up are my dungarees, pushing up my sleeves, and I am going out to pull weeds.  Cleaning up is so rewarding. There is discomfort, however, the results are oh so satisfying.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

One response »

  1. Ahhh! Good morning, Mrs. Horton! Your blog strikes a resonating chord with me! I am so proud of you for making this move and taking charge. Change is scary and hard, but honestly, staying the same(if it’s not healthy) is absolutely horrific! I have not looked back more than a glance once in awhile, and am living my life filled with positive, loving people! Life is so very good. Enjoy everything you embrace on this new adventure!

Leave a Reply

