Bra shopping, more supportive than I anticipated…

Standard

It’s all about the underwear.  One year, in my Chrismas newsletter, I wrote about my perpetual quest for the perfect pair of panties (ie most comfortable).  That mission accomplished, big girl panties pulled up, I have recently taken on the search for a better bra.

All my sisters and more than one friend have told me in the past year that just because I now live in the south, my “girls” didn’t need to go there, too.  One friend even sent me tags and a gift card to nudge me toward a more uplifting image.  Well, hell, the opposing pull of gravity happens!

Anyway, one of my sisters played hookey from work, and we went to Vickie’s, aka Victoria’s Secret.  Holy cow!  I have to say they do not practice age discrimination there, and I was relieved that I was not the most mature patron of the store, but it was close!  At least two of the other shoppers looked older.

The twelve-year-old clerk, Kendra, began by asking me a few pertinent questions.  What was I looking for?  What was wrong with my current bra?  What kind of bra was I wearing?  Sis supplied the embarassing information about my As-Seen-on-TV Genie bra. Kendra measured me, and came up with a band size one inch smaller, and a cup size 1 letter larger than I’d been wearing for the past umpteen years.

Then came the waiting in line for a fitting room.  Sis fanned out to find styles.  I submissively and protectively held our line position.  Fitting Room Expert, Janelle, asked about our particulars, and we finally made our way into a room that had the message “Hello, Sexy!” scripted on the mirror. 

After many try-ons, squeezes, boosts, hoists, and heaves, I was fitted and satisfied with my choices.  I am relieved that my model was available in my three favorite colors…white, nude, and black…nothing exciting there, unless you count the fit.  We checked out, and I hyperventilated at the price, but I am worth it.

Now I have the uplift foundation garments are meant to give.  I appreciate the support of my friends, sisters, and sales clerks.  I feel I am on a higher plane, at least comfort-wise, but my prediction is that no one is going to tell me how perky I now look, though they didn’t hesitate to encourage elevation of my silouhette.  

If the comfort works out, next time I’m going to go racy and lacy.  After all it’s how I feel that counts.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

2 responses »

  1. Now that you know your size you can just go to the clearance section on their online store and order them there 🙂

Leave a Reply

