Shootin’ sh** on the farm…

Standard

I just turned 64 years old, and I celebrated with my siblings on the farm by shooting bullets at a paper target.  I’ve only held a gun in the shooting position once before, when I was in my twenties, and I didn’t like it.  So, when my brother suggested this as a family activity, I was apathetic.

One of my brothers has taken up shooting as his mid-life hobby, and he has quite the arnsenal.  I first shot a .38, and was told this model was just a “toy.”  Hoo-boy.  Of course my first shots when over the target, but after some instruction…feet apart, shoulders down, crouch slightly, aim low…I nailed that piece of paper right in the brain box.  What a rush!

I remind you that I have no idea what these numbers mean, but next I fired a .45, and last a .357 Magnum.  Look out, Dirty Harry!  The big gun was so powerful, I couldn’t pull the trigger.  I had to cock the gun first and then fire each time. 

Later, my sassy sister-in-law brought her Lady Lavendar .38 to join the fun.  Yes, it is purple.  They apparently make those guys in pink, too.  Who knew?  Shooting is definitely a skill.  Later I watched the video taken by my other sister-in-law, and I asked “Did I hit the target?”  I kept the spent shells and the paper target as souveniers. 

Guns are creepy, but I have to say, I felt pretty powerful and very adventuresome shootin’ at my paper man.  I may be hooked.  Or not.  I had a lot of fun, and it made for a very memorable birthday  However, I won’t be buying a gun…lavendar, pink, or gun metal gray…too much bang and too many bucks.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

