The Bad Memory Book Club…

Standard

Let me tell you about the first meeting of the Bad Memory Book Club.  It consists of five members, all between the ages of 45 and 70 something, but one of us slept through the entire book discussion, so it was only four active members.  All of the final four read regularly.  We pretty much read everything from Bill Maher’s New Rules to Alexander McCall Smith’s #1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series.

Our discussion went something like this:

Member:   What have you been reading?

Other Member:   Those books Third Member gave me.

Third Member:   One of them came from you, Member.  You know…the one with the girl in the red dress holding her shoes on the cover.

Member:   What was the story about?

Other Member:   About some women who did things.  It has every vice know to mankind in it.

Fourth Member:    Did you mark the good parts?

Third Member to Member:   You liked it.

Member:   Can I see the book?  Oh, yes.  This was a good story.

Fourth Member:    Mom, would you return this book to South High School?  I took it out when I was a sophomore.  The librarian was busy, so I didn’t bother to check it out.

Other Member:    Did you like it?

Fourth Member:    Yeah, I think so.

Member:    I read a good book by Anna Quinlan about a guy who tries to raise an abandoned baby.  I forget the title, but it was really good. 

Third Member:  Oh, it looks like Member #5 is awake.

Fourth Member:  This was a great discussion.  We ought to do it again.

Member #5:  Did I fall asleep?

All this with a lot of laughs at ourselves, and without benefit of any alcoholic beverage or wine, whatsoever!  I can’t wait till the next meeting!  Is reading great, or what?

Leave a Reply

