“Don’t cry because it’s over,

Standard

Smile because it happened.”  Dr. Seuss said that, and it is my current philosophy.  It’s nice to come to this place.  For some time, I’ve kicked myself for my two “failed” marriages.  More than one person reprimanded me about the “failed” part.  They said 33 years is not a failure.  Wow!  I’m slowly coming to that conclusion myself.

On my recent trip, my former spouse took me out to dinner.  It is significant that my first dinner date after my divorce was with my ex-husband, and I’ll have to ponder this fact for a while, but back to the “date.”

It was bittersweet.  We laughed a lot.  I showed him pictures and told him stories of my nieces and nephews, and accidentally called him “Honey.”  He told me about his life alone, his short stint with his girlfriend, and handed me a heart-shaped rock.   We ate good food and drank good wine, and he paid for dinner without asking me for half.   And I deserved to be wined and dined.

He delivered me back to our grand-daughter’s house where I was staying, before 10 P.  There were some tears, and there was closure.  It was good to laugh together, and it felt comfortable.   Now, maybe I can pack away memories of the tough stuff that went on during our final years.  I can smile because our life together happened.  I felt healed, and it was one of those nights that I can look back on as memorable, and not cry because all that went before it happened.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

