In the company of good women…

Standard

Thanksgiving is this week, and as it has been every year (even the hard ones), I have much for which to be thankful.  I’ve been watching on Facebook as several of my friends have taken this month of November to daily list their gratitudes.  I’ve loved that!  Some even have posted photos.  Women are so clever!

That’s actually what is amazing to me. Women are so everything!  In the mid-90’s, my friend, one of my heart-sisters, gave me a book called Simple Abundance by Sarah Ban Breathnach.  That volume is one of the many being held hostage, for ransom, as it were, by my former spouse.  Not to be daunted, I found a copy at a used book place, and read the passage dated for today.  It was called “Blessed Be the Ties That Bind.”   It opened with a quote by Jane Howard which said, “Call it a clan, call it a network, call it a tribe, call it a family.  Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one.”  I haven’t read the entry, yet.  Those few words were the ones I needed to absorb.

I am building my clan, network, tribe, family.  I am building them and reinforcing them from my biological families, my step-family, my heart-sisters, my book club friends from out west, my still working and retired teacher friends, my church ladies, my yoga classmates, my new Meet up girls, my blog responders, my Love Yourself group women, my volunteer partners, my Facebook friends, and more.

In the company of women, I am being lifted up and carried aloft.  I am so thankful for all of these wonderful, inspiring, caring and loving, brilliant women.  Women are so clever, so everything!

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

One response »

  1. Debbi, I love your blog. I love reading what you have to say and I am honored to be a part of your women friends, and family. Love, MaryJean from Cave Creek

Leave a Reply

