Ringing in the New Year…

Standard

I welcomed 2013 in two ways…with open arms and on bended knees.

I was with my long-time friends at Lake Waccamaw.   They are the consummate Southerners in all my very favorite ways, even though I happen to know for a fact they originated in the Midwest, but that is beside the point.  They are definitely Southern.  For the second year in a row, they received me into their fold without missing a beat.

In the glow of two trees, indoor and outdoor holiday lights, after watching Holly Golightly accept love, I said goodbye to the second year on my own as a single woman.  I’ve lived the past two years with one foot in the past and one foot in the future.  I’ve ignored the present, because it felt so foreign.  Now I am resolving to live in the present (because it’s a gift, don’t ‘cha know?).

I’m going to enjoy every day consciously and seriously.  I’m going to really focus on where I am right now, and what I am doing, thinking, and being.  My arms are wide open to capture and embrace life’s gifts.  My knees are bent in deep gratitude for my family, friends (gold and silver),  and the daily gifts that appear,  unfolding God’s plan for me.

So, here is 2013, full of everything.  It’s a BIG, new year!

Leave a Reply

