Daylight Savings Time…

Standard

I know Benjamin Franklin thought up this idea, but I am not quite sure why it is supposed to be a good one.  Last night I changed more clocks than I even knew I owned.  I must be some kind of a time-warp-keeper or something.  When I was teaching, I stopped wearing a watch in the summers.  When I retired, I stopped wearing a watch all together.  After all, it seemed unnecessary.  Now, I feel like I want to be able to look in any direction in my home, and to see the time.

So we “sprung back” last night.  We “lost” an hour, and the daylight I was enjoying waking up to became darkness again.  At 6 PM, it seemed like the middle of the afternoon.  I won’t be tired until 10:30 or 11 tonight, and that means when I wake up for early Mass in the morning, I will be dragging.  I will haul myself through the day, and by tomorrow night, when I go to bed, I will fall into a deep sleep, awaken properly rested, and it will be as if nothing changed.

Humph, talked myself through that one.  I am still not a fan of Daylight Savings Time, but to paraphrase (or misquote, as it were) someone famous: “How do I know what I think, unless I see what I said?”  I guess DST sorts itself out in the end.  I’ll probably appreciated it July.

One response »

  1. I love your post on DST…I actually like it after I have a couple of days. Like the longer light at the end of the day!! Yes it takes some time. It is great to hear others complain when I am happy. Not the usual for me…I enjoy complaining too sometime. haha

Leave a Reply

