Adult (or almost) students, a teacher’s gift

Standard

One of the pure pleasures of my life has been getting to know my former students as adults.  My dear friend and teaching buddy (and more) “gave” this week, Teacher Appreciation Week, to her students.  I am sure she would take this as flattery, rather than copying,as I wish to acknowledge my students, grown, and almost grown.  It has been a gift to teach you.

A couple of weekends ago, one of my former first (second and third) graders visited me from Seattle.  To see her as a grown up woman, talk to her of our lives, and to share experiences, hopes, dreams, and friends was such a gift.  This is not the first of my former students to visit me, across the country from where I taught them.  I have enjoyed contact with former students through Facebook, as well.   That has been almost as good as a face-to-face visit, if not quite.

The years melt away when we gain adulthood.  This, I knew from my much younger brothers and sisters.  I was grown when some of them were born, and yet, now, they have protected me, cared for me, and given me courage and fortitude to carry on, not to mention, just plain loved me.

My former students, turned adult, have trusted me to teach their own children, and encouraged me, as well.  I am so proud of them.  When I taught them, they were either goofy middle-schoolers, or green-as-grass primary schoolers.  It didn’t matter.  I loved them just the same.  They taught me more than I ever taught them.  They built my character more than I ever helped them develop theirs.  They became more than I ever was or hope to be.

So, thanks for the memories.  Thanks for the lessons.  Thanks for sharing your lives with me more than I could ever share mine.  Be happy.  Be safe.  Be loved (though, I will always love you).  Be YOU!  Happy Teacher Appreciation Week, because this teacher really appreciates you.

One response »

  1. Lovely deb

    This month wonderful “chance” encounters with “old kids”

    CJ motley helped me at. Yard sake…going into air force at 29, 6’9!!!To learn mandarin. Said sister Miranda teaching, getting MA and going to teach at ASU TC HUTTON helped upgrade this place a lot..sweetly, skilfully Kalin Cummins helped me at Lowe’s, about to have a daughter who has since come as you may know…Hillary fine and Chris says Lydia Joy is “yummy!”

    STEF graduating from the Anthem college vet tech program at an ASU space in June and coming out for mothers day, yay

    Much deeper ties with your beloved students…but is All So Touching Isn’t It… a privilege to get to see ANYTHING,ONE…GROW….you too!! Love Kath on kindle On Thursday, May 9, 2013, hortonhearsherself wrote: > hortonhealsherself posted: “One of the pure pleasures of my life has been getting to know my former students as adults. My dear friend and teaching buddy (and more) gave this week, Teacher Appreciation Week, to her students. I am sure she would take this as flattery, rather than” >

Leave a Reply

