Personification and other thoughts…

Standard

When I was teaching, I used to love to teach personification, onomatopoeia, repetition for a purpose and other literary devices to my young students.  They loved knowing advanced concepts.  They loved going home and “wowing” their parents with their sophisticated knowledge.  In class, they would giggle at the word onomatopoeia.  The “pee” part always brought on nudging and secretive smiles.  Just remembering that part makes me smile.  How sweet that kids think they are the only ones that “get” those potty connections.

I have been thinking lately, though, about personification.  I have named my car Big Red.  My sister named her microwave Kenny.  Now, I have a student that I tutor who has named his calculator Helios.  Isn’t that a great name?  It is solar powered, of course.  This guy loves his calculator.  Who doesn’t?  I love mine, too.

I love my car.  My sister loves her microwave.  I guess that is the key to this wondering…what inanimate objects do you own that you love enough to name?

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

2 responses »

  1. Deb,

    Tom named his old Toyota “Angel”….for 21 years. At his mother’s insistence he bought a new Toyota. Sadly, he got in to drive the unfamiliar car away leaving his beloved old one behind….and suddenly the car spoke to him saying, “I have a new body, now get to work on yours.” So Tom exclaimed happily, “Angel!” – good name for a car.

    Paul and I once had an old Econoline van we named “Minerva Running Hoop”…..Minnie for short.
    If she wouldn’t start I’d just pat her like a horse and say, “Come on Minnie!” and she would. A student from the bush of Kenya watched this more than once and looked on me with new eyes: a female car witch doctor!! For awhile Paul and I had a Dodge Dakota truck and Paul called it “Ship of the Desert” (which is really a camel!)

    I don’t name things much BUT

    The Garden is called “Tuvatyara” a Hopi name word for “comes true being wished for”
    The chicken coop is called The Cluckery
    and when the baby chicks were in the chicken wired dog pen Tom called it The Peepery.

    I think we just name really important additions :>

    Will think on this.

    What IS Big Red? your car….what kind?

    If I EVER get a TOYOTA TACOMA (old dream)…. I will CAREFULLY name it, and let you know.

    :> Love K

  2. I was recently hooked up to a medical machine for almost two weeks, 24/7. I hated it! So, instead of feeling anger, I named it. Vincent the Vacuum, and Vinny Vac was his street name. It made it easier to deal with if I made a joke out of it.

Leave a Reply

