Soup’s on…

Standard

One of my favorite things to cook is soup.  I like the chopping, the sautéing, and the stirring.  Mostly, I like the way the house smells when there is a pot of soup simmering on the stove.  I will make any kind of soup.  Sometimes I even use a recipe.

Today, I am making a carrot soup with turkey meatballs that cook right in the liquid.  I’m a bit tactilely defensive, and I am not keen on handling raw meat, but mixing the ground turkey and rolling the meatballs is satisfying.  I tend to chop and roll too large, so getting the right amount of mixture into a ball is a bit of a challenge for me.

The other day, I made a beef stewy-type soup.  It was delicious.  And before that, I made a chicken barley soup.  Good for what ails you.  The trouble is that I can’t just make a few servings.  My soups are great big ol’ pots.  So, yesterday, I counted the “single-serving” leftover containers in my freezer.  Let’s just say I am good-to-go in case of a huge weather disaster lasting a month or more of three meals a day, given my fridge isn’t swept away.

Making and eating soup is nurturing for me.  As a matter of fact, I am nurturing myself thoroughly.  I wouldn’t mind nurturing a few others.  Soup just makes people feel good.  I wish you could come over for a bowl of soup.  There’s plenty for everyone.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

