Welcome, Winter…

Standard

The winter solstice is several weeks away, but winter is in the air. I can smell it.

I’d always thought I had a poor sense of smell. Often, I couldn’t seem to smell things others could, or I was able to tolerate odors others couldn’t. I am not sure when my smeller got sharper, but in recent years, I have noticed that I could smell things and identify smells I had never before been able to. It may have something to do with my weakening eyesight. Lousy trade off, I would say.

I notice winter’s smells most in the darkness of early morning or evening. The air is sharper. The dry leaf smell is more subtle. There’s a woody aroma, even with no fires. Winter smells old. I am amazed by winter’s smells. I’ve always loved the earthy spring and summer smells of cut grass and dirt, but never before have I keyed in to cool weather odors.

We’ve already had several freezes and a few flurries of snow. No matter what the calendar says, though, winter is in the air. I can smell it.

One response »

Leave a Reply

