Thank you, Sweetheart…

Standard

I didn’t think I would ever be anyone’s “Sweetheart” again. We never know, though, where life will lead us. As humans, we try to take control, forgetting all too frequently that none of it is in our hands at all, ever.

Yesterday, I got my true Christmas gift…out of the blue, in a form which left me breathless. Here’s how it happened:
I was subbing. Yes, I know. I keep doing that. This time, I was at the opposite end of the building, figuratively and literally. I was in the Three-Year-Old class. There are six children in that room, four lively boys and two quiet girls. It was snack time, and we were all snacking and chatting as only two adults can do with six three-year-olds.

One of the little charmers asked me to help him with his Go-gurt. I squished the stuff from the bottom to the top of the tube, handed it back, and turned away. “Thank you, Sweetheart,” I heard his little voice say to me. Oh, my. Thank you, back, you dear sweetheart, you.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

