“Everybody talks about it…

Standard

No one does a thing about it. About what? The weather.” This was the jingle from the local weather news in Indianapolis in the 1950’s and 60’s. Mark Twain said it. There’s more to the jingle, but I will quit there.

So, the weather…first below freezing in the negative teens, when I was in Wisconsin at Christmas time, then I come home to “mild” North Carolina to experience the Polar Vortex. It was five degrees here. Of course that is nothing to what the people of the Midwest and Northeast experienced, but frankly, it was damn cold.

In the same week, our temps went up to the mid-fifties, and we had torrential rain with thunder and lightning. There is a weather myth that nine days after winter thunder and lightning, it snows. Guess what? It is predicted. Hoo-boy.

So, how does all of this pertain to me? It IS all about me, isn’t it? At the onset of the Polar Vortex, in a heavy rain storm, I went to Plow and Hearth and bought a fantastic looking electric heater. It is red (my favorite decorating color), and looks like a wood stove, complete with the smoldering, flaming-log look. I love this thing! I am so glad I listened to my inner voice that said, “You really need this, physically and emotionally!”

When I come home, the first thing I do is turn on my fake fire. Heat comes out. The visuals warm me, and I am surrounded with a coziness that I often don’t want to leave. Isn’t that what HOME is? So on another gloomy, rainy, chilly morning, I am actually doing something about the weather. I am making myself comfortable. Ha, Mark Twain!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

