Whew!

Standard

It has been a long time coming, down here in the south, but spring is finally here. The Bradford Pears and the daffodils, and even the forsythia, survived the last “wintry mix.” Then came the Weeping Cherry trees, which survived sleet, high winds, and just-at-freezing temperatures. Now the cherry trees have popped, fully flowered and magnificent.

Winter was a little hard for me this year. Not only were the temperatures, the snow, ice, and freezing rain frequent and difficult, but the dragging-on of a somewhat joyless season took its toll on my psyche. I am not sure why, but I think it is because I feel creatively dry. I slunk on my red chaise, and binge-watched hours and hours of mindless, but addictive Orange is the New Black, House of Cards, and Switched at Birth. It is not “like me” to be so inactive, and being housebound did that.

But, hey! Yesterday the sun shone all day long. The temperature was up to 75 degrees. My daylilies and irises are poking up through the soil. I scavenged a wicker sofa and chair for my deck with my 12-years-older-than-I-am friend. Easter is just a few weeks away, and then the azaleas will be blooming.

Whew. I am hoping I will be inspired to “make” something, like maybe some great cushions for my wicker furniture. If not, I know I will be digging holes in this dense red clay of soil that is indigenous of western Carolina. Happy Easter, happy spring, happy, happy everything!

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

2 responses »

  1. Just like Nature does “nothing” in Winter….creativity needs do-nothing time to sleep, go deep in rest, restore, renew. You’re “creativity” will be budding out all over one day when you least expect it

  2. I agree the winter totally sucked no matter where your lived this winter. It is Spring and it is inspiring no matter what and when! I learned this past Winter that we should never use BUT, NO and However. Can we use whatever? Doubtful, and I will carry on :-). Love you Deb!!!!!

Leave a Reply

