Figure it out…

Standard

I remember being so overwhelmed by all I didn’t know how to do when I first began living alone.  I told myself that I could learn.  I could figure it out.  It’s a hopeful, self-determining mantra.

And, I’ve figured it out with a lot of help from my family and friends.  I’ve learned to do many things, including how to use an electric drill and screwdriver, buy a car, and most recently purchase a new lawnmower.  I learned to do my homework by talking to people who would know…Dad, sales reps, friends.  I read online reports and reviews.  I shopped several big box stores and Amazon.  I made my purchase.

This is what I got:  a Kobalt electric plug-in mower from Lowe’s.  It’s, well, cobalt blue, of course, which doesn’t hurt.  Yesterday, after my brother and his kids came over to unload it from my car, we unboxed it, stripped it of its packaging and plastic wrapping, got its handle in place, and I was good to go.

My eleven-year-old nephew said, “How does it work?”

Me:  You plug it in.

Him:  What?

Me:  It’s electric.  You plug it in.

Brother:  Oh, wow.  Do you have outside electric sockets?

Me, trying not to seem smug:  Three.  One in front, one by the drive, and one at my deck.  I had them put in two years ago for my Christmas lights.

Brother, who pretty much knows everything:  Wow.  Let me know how that works.  That might be the way for us to go.

I made this choice because I have a small yard, and I was having problems starting a gas mower and being unsuccessful at all aspects of making the self-propulsion work.  I learned electric mowers are cheaper, quieter, environmentally friendly, and… bonus for me…lighter weight, therefore easier to push.  No need for a more expensive, self-propelled style.  I can mow with one hand!

 The drawback is the cord and avoiding mowing over it, something I can see me doing.  The first few sections of yard were awkward, but stopping the mower and restarting it after cord adjustment was so simple, it didn’t matter.  By the time I got to the largest front area of grass, I’d, well, figured it out.

I chose the plug-in style over the battery style for several good reasons.  One was weight.  Batteries need to be charged and eventually replaced.  Two hundred dollars more for the initial purchase also swung favor to the plug-in style.  AND I already owned a one hundred foot outdoor chord.  Provided I do not mow over it and cut it, and I intend to try very hard not to, all I’ll need to do is have the blades sharpened every year.

Yes, “figure it out” is a very good philosophy.  It is empowering and after all, I am woman.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

