The Summer of Books…and Southern Writers

Standard

When my life fell apart nearly four years ago, I lost my ability to concentrate.  I was always a voracious reader.  My husband used to say I would read anything, even the toilet paper wrapper.  He was right.  I did read everything in sight.  My eyes were drawn to words.  Imagine my dismay when I could not read a full sentence and comprehend.

Through these last years, I have read.  I have even read a book or two, every now and then.  Mostly my reading has been the newspaper, Facebook posts, articles in Redbook and O Magazines, and the tabloid headlines in the grocery store check out lines.  I tried to join a book club at the library, but reading a book a month was exhausting.  I compared that with my two-book-club-a-month life in Arizona, and thought I might be done. 

Fast forward, and… I have my mojo back!  I have read at least fourteen books this summer.  The “at least” are those I remember.  It began in the spring, after I heard her speak locally, I read Jill McCorkle’s book Life After Life, and then when I was in Wisconsin my reading picked up, and has not wavered.  I read the two Heaven books, Proof of, and Is for Real, Middlesex, which was the book Barbra Streisand’s character was reading to her son in the movie, Guilt Trip.  I read a great book by Jeffery Archer, of which I cannot remember the name, but was about the guy who was thought to be the first to climb Mr. Everest, before Sir Edmund Hilary.  I read a few of the Sweet Potato Queens books by Jill Connor Browne, which are a hoot.  I read Southern Fried Divorce by Jill’s sister, Judy Connor, also funny and touching.  I read a V.I. Warshawski book, and Jeannette Walls’ most recent novel. 

Then I got on a Southern writer kick, and I have read several by Clyde Edgerton, who is a fabulous author, a Mary Kay Andrews book, and Fannie Flagg’s latest, The All-Girls Filling Station’s Last Reunion.  I love me some Fannie Flagg.  My current read is by Adriana Trigiani.  I have read all her other books, and I love that she was a college roommate of one of my friends here in Winston. 

There are a lot of really good books out there, and Southern writers are amongst the best of authors.  I am smitten.  I can’t afford to buy the books, even from Amazon.com, these days, but we have a fabulous public library, and if I am patient, I can get pretty much any book I want to read.  We have Edward McKay’s here and in Greensboro.  There, many desirable used books are available. 

So, this summer, I have laughed until I cried, just plain cried, and loved every word I have read.   As paraphrased from a Barnes and Nobles tote…when I have any money I buy books, and if I have any left, I buy food.  It’s nice to be back.

2 responses »

  1. I’ve taken a hiatus from reading, but will get back to it when LKW tourism subsides. Come for TakeTheLake weekend if you’re free. Ter is helping with bike registration on Saturday and I will be at the depot yard sale….maybe selling some BOOKS!!!! Love you

    Sent from Ginger’s iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

