Eggs in Purgatory…

Standard

It’s my new favorite breakfast.  I was intrigued by the name when I saw something about this dish on either Yahoo or Facebook, and I had to look up the recipe.  It turns out that this meal could be for supper or lunch, but I prefer it for breakfast.

I am a breakfast eater.  As a matter of fact, breakfast is my favorite meal.  I never, ever skip it.  Sometime ago, I decided I was going to love myself enough to cook for one, and I do.  There are successes and failures and often, lots and lots of leftovers.

Through the years, I have covered the gamut of breakfast favorites.  When I was in college, I had Cheetos and milk.  As a married, working woman, I would eat cereal, yogurt, and fruit.  Sunday breakfasts were my former spouse’s specialty, and he would fix pancakes, fried-eggs-over-medium, and sausage gravy.  I made the buttermilk biscuits.

Now, I find myself fixing smoothies, my standard yogurt-fruit-and-granola, or soft scrambled eggs with fresh tomatoes.  There are days this time of year, when I like to have a cup of warm soup for breakfast. For me, though, Eggs in Purgatory are to die for.  I had some this drizzly, cold morning.  There is something deeply comforting about this dish, which makes me happy and warm.

Here’s my version of Eggs in Purgatory:  put a little olive oil in the skillet, pour in some bottled Marinara Sauce and let it heat up.  Crack two eggs on top of the tomato sauce, and cover.  The eggs poach in the sauce, and when the whites are done and the yolks are cooked, you pour it out on a plate with a rim.  Serve with a piece of crusty French Stick, as the Aussies call a baguette.  Sit down with your book, a cup of coffee, and a spoon, knife, and fork.  You will need all three utensils.

Prepare to be comforted. We all deserve it.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

