Goodnight, Moon…

Standard

Goodnight, Moon is a wonderful children’s book, written by Margaret Wise Brown, illustrated by Clement Hurd, and published in 1947. Practically every child since at least 1950 grew up with it as a bedtime story. You parents, probably read that book to your children until you wanted to run screaming from the room, at the time.

I didn’t, but when I had my own classroom, my early readers loved it, and read it over and over. If they hadn’t already memorized it, they read it as a “first book.”

Tonight, the sight of the full moon AND Jupiter, alone and suspended to its left, smacked me in the face when I looked out my window. I love the moon. I love to see the face of the “pleading lady” in the full moon. I used to be very aware of its phases. I could predict student behavior by the phases of the moon.

Now, I just soak in the sight of it. I don’t have anyone to say, “Goodnight,” to each night anymore, except my doggie and kitty, and yet, tonight I say, “Goodnight, moon.”

AND, I think, “I see the moon. The moon sees me. God bless the moon, and God bless me.”

One response »

Leave a Reply

