I’m wasting my life taking Facebook Quizzes…

Standard

Yes, it is true. I can’t resist. Somehow, these quizzes draw me to try to “know” myself better. When I first came into my new life, someone asked me, “What do you like?” I was struck dumb. I couldn’t answer. I didn’t know what I liked.

Though, as a married woman, I liked to read, I couldn’t read anymore. I couldn’t concentrate on the printed page. I liked to garden. I didn’t have any dirt, and it was winter, three thousand miles from where I had lived for nearly thirty years. I liked to craft. I was living in my “baby” brother’s spare bedroom. I liked to sew. My machine was in my destined-to-be-former-spouse’s home.

Now, I have a wonderful, though tiny house. I have shelves and shelves of books. I have my sewing machine that I can set up at my kitchen table anytime I wish. I have boxes of crafting supplies.

Still, I search for “who I am in the eyes of others.”

So, now I know. I am Ranch Salad Dressing. I am Harry Potter’s House of Hufflepuff. I am Keirsey’s Personality of Artisan. I am Mr. Kotter, famous teacher. I am ABBA’s song, Winner Takes It All, and I am the four letter word HOPE that describes me. WTF? And I try not to swear anymore.

What do any of these things have to do with me? Especially the salad dressing for God’s sake, and that is a prayer. So, for Lent, which is coming up in ten days, I am giving up taking Facebook quizzes. I mean, if I don’t know who I am now, then I am a lost cause, and let me assure you, I AM NOT.

I would like to be paid to write the questions and multiple choices for some of these quizzes, though. I think I could BE really creative.

2 responses »

  1. Good move! My take? Personalities are useful like bodies but not as important as they think they are . Generally they work best without too much attention. ..and when they are way out of healthy alignment, they’ll drive crooked. ..or someone will be sure to let you know. LAUGH. OUT. LOUD. even if no one is listening. I love you Deb. Kath

Leave a Reply

