The Cat Transport…

Standard

I have a cat whom I love very much, Mr. Beedle Weedleman. I rescued him from the farm two years ago. I don’t bring him back with me, because he could end up as a coyote’s lunch, so he stays with my youngest sister for the summer at Camp-Never-Go-Out in North Carolina. She is an animal advocate. She has a whole circle of rescue friends, and she has introduced me to that culture.

There are many people who show kindness to those who work hard to keep animals out of the kill shelters and try to find them new, good homes. It is humbling. So when the baby asked if we sisters would transport a cat north to a good safe home, we agreed. This meant we would be spending fourteen hours in the car with a cat, and he would overnight with us at our brother’s and sister-in-law’s home before we delivered him to his new owner.

The cat was a two-year-old Burmese who had been abandoned when his owners moved out of their house so it could be renovated. He lived loose in the neighborhood for a few weeks, and was nearly hit by a car twice. He was called Purrsia by the rescue folks.

I just couldn’t deal with that name right off the bat. He didn’t purr. He cried and moaned pitifully. After a couple of tries, we renamed him Bogle the Whiner, and called him Bo. The first three hours of the trip was non-stop complaining from Bo. One of the girls said, “In ten minutes, he will have been crying for one solid hour.” And it went on. Worn out, he finally gave up and fell asleep, but by that time, his voice was just background noise.

Bo didn’t pace around the car, he liked being stroked, and he got along well with my little dog, Hattie. After he quieted down, he was a pretty good traveler. The transfer in a Texas Roadhouse parking lot outside of Chicago went smoothly. We passed Bo off to his new person, and continued. After about ten miles, we were missing Bo. He added a different dimension to our road trip, and we had bonded with him.

We will be thinking about Bo. He had a rough time of it for a while, but things are looking up. We are wishing him a good and happy life, and he gave us a good story.

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

4 responses »

  1. I’m huge on rescue too. It’s good and well not so good. I have a house-full. I rescued a momma cat with the intention of placing the kitties. Needless to say I have all the babies as I couldn’t find one home of them…all fixed now and four years later. 🙂

Leave a Reply

