“What are you going to do with that?”

Standard

I have written that my sisters and I love the hunt. We, individually and in all manner of groupings, will cruise the thrift shops, Goodwill, used stores, and auctions to see what we can see.

I hold in mind several items that I have “always wanted.” (Pardon the quotes, but it is necessary.) Always wanting something is arbitrary. I’ll see something in a shop or a magazine, think about where it might work in my house, what I can use it for, and then begin the search. Some of my treasures have taken years to find, and others just show up spontaneously.

I have been looking for a wooden ladder for awhile, now. I thought one would look cute leaned against the house outside or against a wall inside to hang things on. You’ve seen the pictures. When I was in Wisconsin, we went to an old school that had been converted into an antique mall. You know I was in heaven…school building/antique mall. It almost doesn’t get any better for me. There leaning against the railing outside was the perfect ladder for me. It was an old wooden extension ladder, sawed down and $15 on the tag. In other words, it was affordable and short, which made it just right for my tiny house. On the same excursion, in another shop, I found some old wire office in/out trays.

One of my favorite parts of junking is when others ask, “What are you going to do with that?” I had my idea for the ladder, but I just thought I’d use the baskets for organizing spices or cosmetics. My sister saw a DIY photo in a magazine that showed wire baskets on rungs of a ladder. This is mine:

IMG_0128

This configuration of found objects is one of the handiest areas of my kitchen. I hang my aprons on the sides, my dishtowels and oven mitts are stacked in an orderly manner, and my onions, potatoes, and garlic can be readily available for whatever dish I choose to throw them in.

What am I going to do with that? Just watch.

IMG_0191

About Horton Hears Herself

Here I am, listening to myself for the first time in my life! I like what I am hearing, most of the time. This time of listening to myself, discovering myself, and learning how to have my dream life is a rocky path with surprises, good and bad.

One response »

Leave a Reply

